Just do right.

Standard

Brent and I are constantly amazed at how people act. I feel like I’m always saying, “Well you aren’t in the Bible Belt anymore, are ya?” Not really word-for-word, but you get the idea. South Floridians are just not the nicest people, in general. I didn’t even know I wasn’t a nice person until I went to Freed. (Who knew you were supposed to say hi to everyone you walk by?) Brent seems to think if he acts really super nice, that the whole county will follow suit. Good luck. I am noticing it getting better, I think. The whole “pay it forward” thing is becoming more trendy and we all need to be up on the latest trend, ya know.

Last night on our way to church, Brent and I saw a guy get out of his car and walk into the intersection to pick up something that was in the way. He didn’t have to. He could have swerved around like everyone else. But he took the time to do the right thing. Brent and I were talking about if everyone just lived by the philosophy of “Just do right” how much better the world would be. Think of how much less stress there would be. You wouldn’t have to worry about people doing wrong to you, because they were all doing right. You would feel better when you did right. It would be a great place. Even if everyone wasn’t a Christian, they just did right anyway, the world would be so much better.

Hold the door for someone, help an elderly lady with her groceries, don’t get so irritated that the person at the front of the line is frazzled and can’t find their wallet to pay within .2 seconds.

It seems really simple, and it is, so I don’t know why more people can’t do right.

Leave a comment