I’m selfish

Standard

[Side note- having a baby sure has re-inspired this blog, huh? :)]

This morning… well at 11:30… when I finally got time to get in the shower- (Mason’s been up since 4… yay!) I started thinking about our new life and all the new things that have been annoying me lately. If you know me, you know I’m not generally a patient person. I like instant gratification- I don’t like waiting. Having to wait 9 months for a baby was pretty tough.

That being said, I use every ounce of my daily patience allowance on my son so there isn’t any left for anyone else in the world. I think this is why I’ve been so easily annoyed lately. Little things that I used to be able to just get over are now “day-ruiners” in my world. (my day isn’t ruined too long. I mean, have you seen how cute my child is??)

Anyway, that back story was just to say that I have become very selfish. Not selfish for just myself, but selfish for my family. I want to do what is best for us and, honestly, I don’t care about your feelings right now. That sounds harsher than I mean it. I do care about your feelings, but they come second to my feelings for my family.

For instance: if you want to see Mason, please don’t try to make me feel guilty about it. It’s a lot harder for me to load up an infant in the car with all his stuff and drive across town to see you in an unfamiliar place than for you to just get your grown up self in the car and arrive at my house. But don’t just assume that I want you over here any time night or day. We are trying to create schedules around this joint. Sometimes, Mason is especially a pain for a day. That would not be the day to come. πŸ™‚

…wait… maybe that is the day to come and let me leave… πŸ™‚

So- before you get upset because I don’t want to bend over backward to make you happy, just think about what you would want to do if you were in my position.

-side note: yesterday and today’s posts weren’t directed at anyone in particular, just random thoughts about things I’ve experienced since becoming a mother that I think people need to think about-

Love to all my readers! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

