Yes, I asked for this…

Standard

I’ve debated for a while about whether to post this or not. I’m sure that I’m going to offend someone, but since when have I really been too worried about that. This is the truth, after all.

I hate being pregnant.

Don’t get me wrong- I’m more excited than you will ever know to have a baby, but this whole “pregnancy” thing- yea, it’s not really for me. Before I was pregnant, I actually said that I couldn’t wait to be pregnant. (Brent informed me of this several weeks ago. I have no recollection of it.) Now that I’ve been doing this for 7 months, it’s just no fun. Maybe if you could cram it down to just like 5 or 6 months of being pregnant. Nine months is just too much.

I don’t enjoy that none of my clothes fit. Especially now that it’s winter and I apparently live in Antarctica. Try not being able to button up your jacket when it’s 20Β° out.

I don’t enjoy having to pee every 20 minutes. I used to pee like 3 times a day (not that any of you want to know my bathroom habits). Now, I know where the bathroom is in pretty much every store in Nashville. Go ahead, ask me.

I don’t like that my fingernails grow so fast. I know that most women love this, but not me. I like my nails to be short and I like manicures. Especially since there is no point in a pedicure with the frigid temperatures right now. So, I get a manicure and a week later, my nails need cut again. It’s a viscious cycle.

I don’t like having to literally roll out of bed. Or off the couch. Or ask Brent to help me up all the time. This probably is even worse since there are two puppies in my house that enjoy laying of top of me. It’s quite a process every time I want to get up.

I don’t really enjoy the special treatment or people telling me not to do things and trying to help. I promise I can carry the laundry basket from the bedroom to the laundry room. I’m perfectly capable of walking up and down stairs (although I have tripped twice in the last week πŸ™‚ ). And I can put my groceries into the backseat of my car just fine on my own. Pregnant β‰  handicapped. At least not in my case.

Don’t get me wrong, though. I’m not complaining that I am pregnant. It does sound like that, though. I’m just saying that by the time I’m ready to have my next kid, I’m hoping that technology has figured a way around these things. πŸ™‚

I’m grateful everyday for our little baby Mason, though, and we just can’t wait for him to get here. I’m just saying he better reeeeeaaaalllllyyyyy love me for carrying him around for so long.

 

P.S.- How do you like the new Beach theme? We can all pretend it’s nice and sunny and warm.

5 responses »

  1. Ahhhh, so glad the blogger is back. What can you say? Pregnancy isn’t for everyone! I personally LOVED it (and I was super sick). But it doesn’t offend me that you hate it. Tell the world! Tell the world, “DON’T touch my stomach!”; “I’m sick of peeing every hour on the hour (or more!); and “No, THANK YOU I do not need your help, I’m good!” You’re Lindsey and you’ve always said what you always mean. That’s what I love, anyway. ; p LOL! Sometimes I cringe, most of the time I laugh! Can’t wait to meet baby Mason! He’s gonna have a super cool mom and one heck-of-a grandma (or whatever you’ve decided to call her! ~GrandJacq?) ; p Only a few more weeks!

  2. You’re so funny! In the grand scheme of things, it IS a very short period of time, although it probably seems like an eternity to you. I could tell last time you were home that it wasn’t happening for you. I just told Stephanie this past Sunday, I think God gave women the 9th month of pregnancy so diaper bags, messy diapers, lots of feedings and sleepless nights don’t seem quite so bad lol He’ll be here before you know it! And your lives will be changed forever. Smiles

  3. You need to add a new tag on the left that says “about Mason”. Can’t wait. I hated pregnancy but know, like you, that it is worth it. The getting up and down is was is exhausting. That and I can’t remember why I got up in the first place once I was upright! LOL Love you tons and can’t wait!

  4. I felt like I offended some people at the end of my pregnancy with Olivia too when I expressed how miserable I was. I got a lot of “you should just be thankful”. But, reality is reality and when you are miserable, you are miserable! I was miserable the last 3 months with Olivia and I hated being pregnant too! I was very thankful and felt very blessed to have a new baby on the way- I just didn’t want it to be inside of my body any longer! That made sense to me! I SO get what you mean- there are just a lot of not-fun parts about pregnancy. And you can’t truly appreciate that until you have had a stinky last few months. Hang in there- the best thing about being pregnant is that you know it eventually will end. And then you have a sweet little baby. Then you will be too tired to enjoy it as fully as you wish you could. But we all just have to do the best we can! haha And I think I would have a few more kids if I could have them without being pregnant. You let me know if you figure that one out!

  5. Pingback: 100. | The Adventures of Mr & Mrs

Leave a Reply

