What’s up Doc?

Standard

You know those people who get super nervous and worried and anxious every time the step food in a medical office? That’s me. I think it’s a newer thing for me. Just in the past 3 years or so. I know I didn’t used to be as bad as a I am now. Just the thought of the dentist makes me break out in a sweat. I dread going to the doctor because maybe I’ll have to get a shot or get my finger pricked. I’m a big baby. I start over thinking everything and freaking out.

Well, as much as I hated it, I needed to go to the doctor yesterday just for a normal exam. Nothing too fancy. Just sitting in the waiting room my stomach was churning. By the time I got back in the exam room, I was sweating, my heart was racing, my palms were clammy. The doctor even commented on it. Ridiculous. I can’t calm myself down either. It’s weird. THEN this morning, I had to go and get blood work done. Now, if doctor’s offices make me worried, anywhere there are needles that I know will be stuck into me makes me quadruple worried. I hate needles, a lot. I turn into a 5-year-old when I see them. At least now that I’m older, I’ve figured myself out enough to know not to ever, and I mean EVER, look at that tray with the needle on it. I was particularly worried about this blood work because last time I got blood drawn, the lady had to stick me 3 times and I passed out. Not great memories. Luckily, Brent went with me to try to keep me calmed down. I was fine until I knew I was up next and then the temperature rises, and I clam up, and the freaking out commences. To my surprise, it wasn’t that bad. The lady was nice and she got me on the first try. It did hurt super bad though. In fact, my arm still hurts…

Am I the only adult in the world that experiences this problem? I feel like a small child when I get in there. I would cry except I know everyone would stare. 🙂

One day, I’ll tell you of my dentist stories. Those are worse, if you can believe it.

Leave a Reply

